You know me, I’m the one who keeps bugging everyone to put some journaling on the page – even if it is “who, what, when & where.” and here is the WHY. I read “Where Old Photos Go to Die” at Scrappers Workshop and it hit me. THIS is why I scrapbook. THIS is why I keep asking people to tell me MORE about the layouts they do.

We all think of our pictures as “current stuff.” That “WE” know who it is and when and why we snapped that picture. But you know what? in 50 years, you might not be able to tell someone anything about that picture. You might not be able to tell them the joy in that photo. Heck, you might not be able to do that tomorrow even.

Think to the box of photos you inherited from your parents or grandparents. What do you know about those pictures? What do you wish you knew about them? Even if your parents or grandparents are still alive, can they tell you about them?

Sadly, we all eventually will never be able to tell anyone why we snapped a picture or who that is in it. This is why many of us scrapbook – to leave a legacy. While some of us do it for ourselves, at some point, someone else is going to sit down and sift thru them (unless you destroy them before then LOL). Those people who see them later will make a decision as to whether they are “worth” keeping for themselves or doing whatever with them. I believe that if the legacy they are is meaningful, they will want to keep them.

Read the article at Scrappers Workshop. If you don’t do anything on the front of the page – at least put it all on the back for someone to see later.

