While working on a digital keepsake book, I was looking for the “right” font to put the sentiment in the book. While it needed to be sentimental in appearance, it couldn’t be too casual as the book needed to have a look of having come straight from the printer in a very professional manner. So, I did what nearly anyone else would do, Google fonts, or more specifically “typeface and design.” In the process, I landed at one of my favorite sites, Smashing Magazine, with an older article “60 Brilliant Typefaces for Corporate Design.”

What I was looking for so much wasn’t a FONT but the right typeface. I needed the right look. While, the article is more for corporate design, the same principals apply to any design. And scrapbooking, is design, whether we think it is or not.

Design is more than just moving the visual from left to right, top to bottom, but allowing your viewer to feel the emotion in the pages too. Typeface helps to convey that emotion.

For my project, I needed to make sure that I wasn’t conveying too casual an emotion, yet not too formal. The balance had to be just right. I already knew that my title had to convey a sense of the ice and cold for hockey (the unusual “PlAGuEdEaTH” font for this) is my primary subject. But it also has to be “readable.” There are thousands of really fun fonts that you can download. But ultimately, whatever font you use, you have to be able to read it without difficulty. You really can’t pick one just because of “cuteness.”

I knew I wanted to use a serif font because my title was a serif font. Mixing fonts can make the page lack cohesiveness. Although I already knew that the “signature” from each sentiment would be in a handwritten font (I chose “JohnLennon” for this one), I didn’t want to throw a third font out there that lacked cohesiveness.

And then, I found a fresh article also at Smashing Magazine, “What Font Should I Use?” I really could have used this when I was working on the project.  But on the other hand, I really enjoyed this article. I found that for someone who is really a little lost on choosing fonts, it is a must read. The rules, the lack of rules and describing fonts as putting on “your favorite pair of jeans,” yep, that’s about it. I do still gravitate to that one font, all the time…

So, for anyone still a little confused about fonts and how they work together, I really recommend both articles!

